STRONG

       As I was laying in bed last night thinking about certain events of the day, everything I need to do, and why life seems hard and unfair at certain moments, the lyrics of a song came into my head:

I know I’m not strong enough to be
everything that I’m supposed to be
I give up, I’m not strong enough
Hands of mercy won’t you cover me
Lord right now I’m asking you to be
Strong enough, Strong enough
For the both of us

       This is the chorus of a song by Matthew West called Strong Enough.  I was overwhelmed with the realization that I don’t need to be strong enough.  I am not strong enough to not be offended at times.  I am not strong enough to be the better person all the time.  I am not strong enough to be joyful all the time.  And I am definitely not strong enough to follow the Lord like I should.  But that’s ok.  Because my God IS strong enough.  And through His strength I am strong enough.

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. 
Philippians 4:13

        I am not saying that we can just act however we want all the time and expect God to do all the work.  But the work does not seem so daunting when I am not relying on my own strength.

My God is strong.  Therefore, I am STRONG.

 
Leave a Reply

